Who Am I?

When the young Matthew Ward wasn’t reading of strange worlds in the works of C S Lewis, Tolkien and Douglas Hill, he was watching adventure and mystery in Doctor Who, and Richard Carpenter’s excellent Robin of Sherwood series.

In 2002, he joined Games Workshop and spent the next decade developing characters, settings and stories for their Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000 universes, as well as for a successful series of licensed books set in J.R.R Tolkien's Middle-earth.

In 2014, Matthew embarked on an adventure to tell stories set in worlds of his own design. He firmly believes that there’s not enough magic in the world, and writes to entertain anyone who feels the same way. He lives near Nottingham with his extremely patient wife, and three attention-seeking cats.

Past Projects

Novels & Novellas

Light of the Radiant
(Coming soon)

Queen of Eventide

Shadow of the Raven

A Matter of Belief

Video Games


Short Stories

The Bargain
(Short Story)

Brazen Dreams
(Short Story, Issue #4)


For Games Workshop

Codex: Blood Angels (2nd Edition)

 Codex: Grey Knights (1st Edition)

 Codex: Iyanden (1st Edition)

 Codex: Necrons (2nd Edition)

 Codex: Sentinels of Terra (1st Edition)

 Codex: Space Marines (3rd Edition)

 The Lord of the Rings: Battle of Pelennor Fields

The Lord of the Rings

Fall of the Necromancer

The Lord of the Rings: Gondor in Flames

The Lord of the Rings: Harad

The Lord of the Rings: Ruin of Arnor

The Lord of the Rings: Shadow and Flame

 The Lord of the Rings: Shadow in the East

The Lord of the Rings:
The Scouring of the Shire

The Lord of the Rings: War of the Ring

Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook (5th Edition)

 Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook (6th Edition)

 Warhammer End Times: Nagash

 Warhammer End Times: Khaine

 Warhammer End Times: Archaon

 Warhammer Rulebook (8th Edition)

 Warhammer: Daemons of Chaos (1st Edition)

Warhammer: Daemons of Chaos (2nd Edition)

 Warhammer: Dark Elves (4th Edition)

Warhammer: High Elves (5th Edition)

 Warhammer: Orcs & Goblins (3rd Edition)

 Warhammer: Storm of Magic

 Warhammer: Wood Elves (2nd Edition)

 Warhammer: Wood Elves (3rd Edition)